Carer next to elderly woman in a wheelchair - Moving People Safely - Level 2 - Sentinel Laboratories Ltd

Moving People Safely - Level 2

Regular price£0.00


Duration: 2 Day Course - 10 Hours in Total


Who is it for? The Level 2 Award in Moving People Safely is intended as a further development qualification for those working in areas where the assistance and movement of people is a prerequisite part of their role. This qualification is underpinned by the safe principles of moving and handling but recognises the special skills required when assisting and moving people. The qualification is suitable for new starters in organisations where the movement and assistance of people is a key role as well as being suitable for refresher training.


Course Objectives By the end of the course the delegates will be able to:

  • Understand the personal safety health and dignity issues relating to the movement of a person by others
  • Understand how a personal handling plan and risk assessment reduce the risk of injury to everyone involved in moving a person
  • Understand the principles, types of equipment and testing requirements associated with moving people safely
  • Be able to apply safe principles when moving a person


  • Impact on people of moved incorrectly
  • Risk Assessment
  • Personal Handling Plan
  • Handling and Lifting Equipment
  • Testing of Equipment
  • Safe Movement Principles


This qualification is assessed in two parts:

Part one tests delegates' knowledge on the subject and is assessed by a 15-question multiple-choice examination, the duration of which is 30 minutes. Successful delegates must achieve a score of at least 10 out of 15, in order to pass this element of the qualification


Part two is a competency-based assessment carried out by the nominated tutor. Delegates must practically demonstrate the application of the correct techniques as indicated within the learning outcomes of the unit. Please see the qualification specification for more details on the practical assessment


Progression Progression and further learning routes include:

  • HABC Level 2/Level 3 Award in Health and Safety in the Workplace
  • VRQs/NVQs in Health and Social Care


This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

You may also like

Recently viewed